Sign in to follow this  
White66

Why Can't I Write What I Want To?

I guess the title sums up this post really, and what I am feeling.

I am a writer at heart, it is all I have wanted to be and felt I could ever do with my life.

But recently, I have been finding that more and more difficult, especially in one particular area.

I might as well just blurt it out; erotica is what I like to write, and the one thing I want to write but cannot seem to. Anything else I turn my hand to, I can make work.

But I try to write any of the erotica stories I have in mind, I just can't seem to get anywhere. Anything I write just seems flat, and that is after a lot of work. All I write just feels like a pedestrian and boring set of descriptions and that seems to be all I can do.

To make it more frustrating, this was something I used to be able to do. So now I worry that my depression has killed my creativity and I might not be able to get it back. I guess what I wondering is has anyone else out there had a problem like this and been able to work through it.

Hoping to hear from you guys,

White.

Im a writer too, well amaturely, only self published but anyhoo. I go through phases of not being able to write because of my depression too and it is really frustrating. I did wonder if I would ever want to write again after abandoning many half written and half thought out books but keep calm. One day you will just wake up and want to write again. I know it sounds daft but thats literally how it happened for me. First thought in the morning was wanting to work. Hang on in there. It will come back to you.