Depression & Creativity

Licorice

I've seen quite a few people over the years say that depression, low moods, and struggles fuel their creative pursuits such as art and writing. It's almost like a muse, or it provides them with the strong emotions needed to write something meaningful. Stephen King has even used writing as an escape while lying in bed injured and miserable. Does this hold true for you?

I find the creative juices flow best when I'm in a good mood and am motivated. It's too easy otherwise to just turn on a movie or post on forums.

Licorice, I find myself agreeing with you again!!

Art used to be how I make my living. Now, I sit here having to draw up a postcard for a family member as a thank you gesture, and am dreading the task. My creativity has been gone for a long time now, and I feel like every time I put a pencil to paper, I'm just retracing old, moldy patterns and habits I feel I should have grown past long ago. It's beyond being my own worst critic. I've pretty much damned myself to failure and inability to ever grow or draw anything that would appeal to me ever again. I struggle with my loss of ability every day, because it eats at me and makes me feel ashamed that the talent that once used to define the best part of me is destroyed. With my art, my identity got lost, too, and it's been very hard to redefine myself as anything other than a failure, a coward and ultimately a loser.

I must be in a happy mood and upbeat to be able to create at all, and these days, since any burst of energy is few and far between, I use it to do something physical, to keep myself in shape. Or to study, since that's something that'll actually have an important effect on my life, and I need to do it.