Like many of you, I've struggled recently with depression and anxiety. This year I've had a particularly tough time with insomnia (due to anxiety) - something I'm seeing a psychologist for who specializes in sleep disorders and anxiety. The lack of sleep tends to fuel my depression symptoms and can make a lot of days really tough. I've made some good strides but still have my bad days. I first started experiencing my symptoms in full force a couple years ago, coincidentally when I moved out on my own and started to feel the burdens of adulthood. Shortly after I moved out, I broke up with my girlfriend of almost 4 years, which was emotionally difficult for obvious reasons. I'm a bit of a loner and have always kept enough distance to avoid having really close friends. I believe all of these things converged to trigger most of my symptoms.

On the outside, you would think I should have nothing to feel bad about. I've got a great family. I graduated from the Univ. of Wisconsin and have a decent job. Still, it's like I'm missing that reason to get up in the morning. The work I do is pretty numbers driven and although I'm good at it, it doesn't give me a deep sense of satisfaction. And since I don't have much in the way of a social life, that doesn't leave much! I know that there's a purpose for me (and for all of us), but sometimes that cloud just comes overhead and is tough to get rid of. On top of that, I've dealt with social anxiety at times - not totally crippling, but I do have to put up with feeling particularly uncomfortable in certain situations, especially around people I don't know well. I make every effort to ensure that it doesn't control my life, but again it just makes ordinary things that much more difficult.

Anyways, that's the summary on me. I hope I can be of help to some of the rest of you for support and encouragement!

Hi Unbridled,