Atypical Depression- Share Experiences

Lolacat

I'm new to the DF community. I just started taking Wellbutrin for what I suspect is atypical depression and would like to share my experience and hear what others have experienced in this realm of depression.

A bit of my background: I grew up in an unusual and sad family. My father is a pastor in a small town- so we lived in a spotlight. He is a nice person but "checked out" emotionally. He often does not seem interested in talking to his kids or knowing what is going on with their lives, he can come across as cold. We were a fairly strict, conservative and judgemental denomination of Christianity which I found very oppressive and toxic. In addition to this my mother has schizoaffective disorder (although from my age of 10 at her diagnosis until my mid twenties we were told it was just schizophrenia). She refused medication- would occassionally be hospitalized, medicated and then quickly returned to us where she promptly went off her meds. All of her anger and paranoia was directed at my dad and her delusions were always strange and dark thoughts concerning religion, violence and sex. The thought of them makes my skin crawl.