Sign in to follow this  
solobear

Don't Know How To Tell Gp/people

Hi everyone,

I'm super sorry if this is in the wrong forum or an overdone topic or something. This is the first time I've ever posted in a forum about it, so I guess I'm nervous (on the internet? lol).

I think I have depression, and have done since I was fifteen - I'm twenty one now. I've been alternating between being moody and low to suicidal for the past six years and have never brought it up with anyone, but after so long I can't do it anymore. I've always put off talking to my GP because I don't know what to say, and I'm convinced that they'll think I'm exaggerating, or tell me I'm just a moody person and there's nothing to be done other than pick myself up. But I can't think of a time where I've been consistently happy for years, and I think about the occasions I came close to ******* myself. I feel like I'm at the start of another downswing (is that even a name? Its what I call the going down moodswing), and when it gets to that point again I don't know if I can get through it.

I find it hard to concentrate or be motivated to do anything, and it's really starting to affect my performance in university. I'm very tired all the time, and going out absolutely exhausts me, but that could be because I don't eat much. Maybe a small meal a day (I had blood tests the other week, all is fine there, so the tiredness must be something else). My sex drive has vanished the last few weeks, and I just have this weird feeling of... emptiness, but frustration at feeling like that. It's hard to describe. I have no plans for the future because I just don't see myself getting a few years into the future. Does any of this sound like something I could be helped with? It doesn't feel like it, is that normal?

Anyone who spoke to their GP, what did you say? And how about to friends?