Tovah

Has Anyone Ever Felt God's Presence?

This is something I have been praying for for 25 years. I have prayed and prayed in my darkest hours to feel God's presence and feel his peace but have not. Have you? What did it feel like??

Wishing, hoping and praying -

Tovah :hearts:

Hi Tovah,

Sometimes I have to go somewhere else to feel God's presence. I'm catholic so many catholic churches are open during the day. Sometimes all go and sit in there, and I feel God's presence then. Other times are at meal times. Sometimes I feel God out in nature when I'm walking. "Seek and ye shall find, knock and it shall be opened unto you". Matthew 7:7. Sometimes if I use one of my talents like playing the guitar or singing I feel God's presence. Hope that helps!

Clion

Guest iowa

C.S.Lewis went through a similar time and wrote about it in "Surprised by Joy". He talks of his first time in finding that presence and peace when he was in nature and just swept into "joy".

Iowa

It happened to me when I was at my very lowest. I had been speaking to a friend about religion; I have lived my life as an atheist for a very long time. He said that he was going to pray for me as he felt that I needed God in my life. I went to bed, with tears in my eyes and just started talking about how I needed some help right now. Suddenly, all I felt was love and all I could see was light, even though my eyes were closed and I was in a darkened room. I knew that it was God, there was nothing else it could have been. Since then, I now call myself a Christian and I regularly pray. I still have a lot of questions that need answering, but I think that is part of being a Christian; having questions.