Sign in to follow this  
Forum Admin

****Welcome New Members!****

This is the place to introduce yourself in Depression Central and to tell us what brings you to DF.

If you have any questions, please send a PM to any moderator as we look forward to getting acquainted with all of you! :hearts:

Posts brought over from our recently closed New Member Topic

Hi All,

I guess I'm only beginning to admit to myself that I am depressed, I had a number of unfortunate things happen to me in the space of a couple of years and things seemed to spiral for a bit. Just before my finals at high school, I found out that my Dad had been having an affair for 2 years. It absolutely destroyed my Mum, she started to drink. What was worse was that she had known for a while but kept it from me and my brothers because she wanted me to get through my exams. She kept that pain and hurt to herself for a long time. She ended up having a bit of a nervous break down which shook me up badly. When I found out bout his affair, I flipped out badly, I ruined a friendship with a close friend and generally hit the self destruct button. I had put my Dad up on a pedestal for my whole life and to have that come crashing down on me when I was 18, I really took it badly. I tried to make my Dad choose between me or her, and as with most guys when you back them into a corner, he chose her. I guess he thought i was just full of empty threats and having tantrums like a child, I still dont know if he realises how much of an effect this had on me. To this day I still have this niggling feeling that if my Dad didnt choose me, why would any guy. It has ruled most of my relationships thus far. Whilst all the revelations about his affair were coming out, my eldest brother (25) was having major heart surgery, and to make sure they didnt potentially complicate things for him, Mum and Dad played happy families around him. It made me sick to the stomach! During my brothers op, he flatlined when he had an allergic react