Sign in to follow this  
LucyH

'start Up' Side Effects On Mirtazapine - Is This Normal!?!?

Hi All,

I am new to mirtazapine - just been prescribed it to mainly help with sleep, though i have depression too, just never taken anything for it, so am hoping for improvements on all levels. I took lorazepam (ativan) for the last 4 months, so the doctor also wanted me to come off that, and thought this would help.

I have taken it for 2 nights now, 15mg per night and am suffering some side effects which have really made it impossible to function the next day.... I cannot even get out of bed until 1pm (took the pill at 11.30pm the first night and 9.30pm last night), have headaches in the morning, completely groggy, spaced....... both nights I have also had REALLY vivid dreams, not nightmares, so OK, but just non-stop totally real feeling dreams. I think I will try to eat much earlier tonight and see if that improves (after reading some posts on this site - very useful, thanks!).

I guess I just want to know that these side effects are normal and will pass..... and roughly how long it will take for them to pass. I have been unable to work the last 2 days (kind of the least of my worries just now, but still, it does not make me feel good about myself to have to cancel workplans), and also have to move flats next friday.... cannot even imagine having the strength for that the way I feel today :-(.

I have not been able to speak to my doctor due to being in bed the last 2 mornings and its now the weekend and I just am not sure whether I should stop taking the mirtazapine or whether to persevere..... I am also aware of the fact that of course these side effects could also be related to the fact that I have stopped the ativan......

I would really like to hear the experiences of others!!!!

Many many thanks!!!!!

Guest Mogwai

Hi Lucy,