Sign in to follow this  
Lindsay

WELLBUTRIN SR (BUPROPION HYDROCHLORIDE) and ALCOHOL

WELLBUTRIN SR (BUPROPION HYDROCHLORIDE) and ALCOHOL

Severity: Major

Description: Drinking ALCOHOL (or taking any product containing alcohol) while being treated with BUPROPION, or any other ANTIDEPRESSANT, may result in an increased risk of seizures. Drinking alcohol while being treated with bupropion is not recommended. Call your doctor right away for any of the following problems.

1. You are confused.

2. You have changes in mental awareness.

3. You have sudden muscle spasms.

4. You have seizures.

Alcohol is a depressant. Why would you want to become depressed?

I am new to Wellbutrin SR, but I have not decreased my alcohol intake. I know it could cause seizures but I just am too depressed to not drink. I get pretty drunk on fridays and saturdays and occasionally during the week I will have a shot of alcohol, but not often. So far I have no weird side effects. I just wonder if they HAVE to put that on the bottle because of the FDA or if it really could cause serious problems.

Edited by buckten

I have yet to indulge in even one alcoholic drink while on wellbutrin. This is fine with me 98% of the time. Occasionally I would like to enjoy a glass of alcohol. I am scared about the increased risks if consuming alcohol. Can a glass of alcohol really cause this much trouble/damage? How does everyone one else deal with this subject in their everyday lives?

Edited by 2happy

My doc only told me to keep an eye on my alcohol intake. When I started taking ativan, he said I should probably stop drinking until I stopped taking ativan.

I understand the risk of drinking while on anti-depressants, however I have never used alcohol as a *solution* to my problems. I dont drink when im upset - i only drink when I am happy and want to enjoy myself in the company of friends.

What my doc told me seems to not match up with everything that is being said here..... curious...