Anhedonia help

Emu567

Hi ,

im a 26 year old student who has been suffering with depression and psychosis for the past 3 years. 
For the past year I have also suffered with anhedonia . I barely feel any pleasure from activities I used to enjoy . It’s physical as well, I can’t enjoy bathing or drinking a cup of tea. I also can’t enjoy sex and my sex drive is really low. I just feel an uncomfortable emptiness. I’m feeling very depressed at the moment, I can barely get out of bed in the morning and spend all day on the sofa. The anhedonia makes it so much worse. I’m wondering if I’m stuck like this , if my brain is permanently damaged or is there some hope for recovery ? Are there any tips for overcoming anhedonia and regaining pleasure in life ? 

You're not alone. Since my wife passed, I have no pleasure in anything. I used to be a voracious reader...haven't finished a book this year yet. I've lost all interest in my gaming...and I own thousands of PlayStation Games...We used to spend hours in the kitchen cooking up meals...now everything has no taste and I don't venture into any extensive cooking adventures. This has been going on for two years now. I just do what needs to be done when it needs to be done. Besides that, I just veg in front of the computer and TV...

hello

this is such a pain to go through indeed, I hope it gets easier soon

I'm sure there's a way out of this

I have tried reading some CBT books on managing depression (they have tips to overcome anhedonia), could this help?

I wish you well!