Paroxitine and weight loss surgery

are you talking about gastric bypass? Since they're making your stomach that much smaller and only allowing a limited amount of food in at one time, perhaps? but I think that you could burst the sutures if you ate too much at one time (you'd have to be really forcing the food down though) and I think what's left of the stomach would learn how to stretch and expand again because it is still a muscle after all. 

It most likely will help and if you and your doctors both agree then, I think you'd have to accept that you will wake up with the same amount of weight and it would remain for a couple more weeks until you're body adjusts to the smaller amounts of food..? Im not a doctor though, just someone who understands the science and has her own weight and body image issues and food struggles and has gone through many periods of weight loss and weight gain. 

All the best (and this is just my opinion, please ignore if i'm completely on the wrong level 😁)

Hey No1isimmune,

Welcome to DF!

SSRIs and weight gain appear to go hand in hand, but before you go the surgery route, might I suggest trying to address the root cause? Because, depending on your genetic makeup, you may be susceptible to blood sugar regulation problems caused by your SSRI, and those problems can be mitigated by some of the newer diabetes drugs.

If your weight gain was caused by leptin or insulin resistance, which some studies suggest can be triggered by SSRI use, your suspicion on surgery is correct. The cravings and the irrational hunger will probably still be there even after the surgery. And the worse news? Once you have leptin or insulin resistance, discontinuing your SSRI isn't going to make the problems go away. I was a healthy 170 lbs. when I started lexapro; I topped out at 236 after 10+ years of SSRIs.