Sign in to follow this  
Sentinel2

Depression and a new job

Hello, 

I finished college, now it is time to look for a job. 

I applied for a simple job. They replied me with an offer for a harder better paid job. I studied for this harder job and was happy of their reply. They gave me a simple task i have to perform to prove i am capable of this job. And here comes the depression and anxiety. I simply gave up on this task because i got so depressed and anxious, i simply didnt feel i am up for it. 

The reason this is so hard for me is that on 1 hand i would love to do this harder better paid job, if nothing else because i studied for it. But the reality is, right now i am just not capable of it. Every simple obstacle to me seems like life/death situation. So i thought about it rationaly and right now the best solution seems to be to just do the easier less paid job and get used to it, get used to the company, work, etc. And in time, if i get better, i can always apply for the harder better paid job. 

This is how i see it and would very much like your opinion. 

Considering what you've previously posted about your battle plan, I like this approach.  Something that is both new and challenging seems to me like your cutoff point.  So, yeah, go for the "new" and leave "challenging" on the back burner for now, imo.  Or, put another way, "new" is enuf of a challenge.

That sounds really good for your mental health. Thanks for posting this. I need to keep that in mind as I look for a new job which I am very anxious about doing. 

BW

I just wanted to let you know that i applied for the simpler less paid job and am awaiting reply. In my mind i don't really expect much but i am glad i applied. And while i am sad that i am not fit for the better paid job right now, i have to learn to live with my health problems and adjust accordingly.