Sign in to follow this  
Rundmc423

My first step.

This is my first step. I've been depressed my whole life. I used to keep to myself as a teenager even though I had many friends. My Dad was ******** in 2000. Been married 17 years. Last 12 have been hard / sucked. Recently, at 51, I lost my job and I'm unemployed with a wife and 2 kids. I am not insured. Finally want to do something to address my depression. Where do I start? Feel alone but want to finally do something. Thanks.

You have taken a first step by reaching out.  I am pretty new to this myself but from reading the posts on here I would say that your first step would be to visit your doctor.  I know that you don’t have insurance.  But I think that would be the first step.  If that just is not possible maybe look into your states mental help services.  Depressed anonymous or emotions anonymous are also helpful.  Both have websites and may have meetings in your area.  I am new to this too. I thank you for reaching out to this forum.  There is support for you here

I really appreciate the response. Being unemployed, I don't have a doctor nor could afford one right now. Looking for other suggestions and any insight to begin the process of dealing with my depression. Thanks.

Hi and welcome to the Forums, Runmc423,

Depression can be so brutal.  Hopefully you will find these Forums to be helpful to you.  They have helped me a lot.  Sometimes there is no substitute for being able to communicate with others who are going through the same or similar struggles. 

I'm sorry you lost your job and do not have health insurance.  That must be  enormously stressful.   I was helped a lot by self-help books written by noted cognitive psychologists.  Don't know if that would be helpful to you or others.  Sometimes what helps one of us doesn't work for others.  I sure hope you find some relief!

- epictetus