Sign in to follow this  
Kabuto

Freaking Depressed Tonight

Hi all,

I'm an artist and as such, I rely on services to make money.   One such service is "Patreon".   Basically, they're a highly useful creator platform.   However, they've recently raised their creator fee from 5% to 8%, for everyone who registers AFTER May 7th.   People who registered before get to keep the 5% rate.    So long story short, I missed the deadline.    And this is highly depressing because that money adds up, as someone who had been struggling financially.    Freaking depressing that I didn't find out about this before, and aggravating that they would make such a change.   Crap like this is depressing as heck. 

I get it.  I am an artist too.  I'm not sure how old you are, but I'm 45.  I remember when services like Go Fund Me and Patreon did not exist.  I remember when trying to reach an audience outside a very small geographical radius was near impossible; and to do so meant spending far more than 8% in marketing with absolutely no guarantees I would recoup that.  At least commission-based fees do not require a substantial up-front investment.

Yeah, 3% is a lot to someone working their tails off to put food on the table and a roof over their head.  But sometimes, we just need to be grateful for the things we do have.

Soooo... depressing... yes.  I do feel for ya.  I'm not trying to say you have no reason to get upset about it.  But for myself, I try to keep things like this in perspective.  By all means, get upset.  But then try to get past it and put your focus back on your work.

https://techcrunch.com/2019/03/19/patreons-new-fees-are-surprisingly-low/

You raise a fair point.   I am grateful these services exist.   However, even so, it can be difficult not to be incredibly frustrated with myself that I didn't find out just a few days earlier...   (Why do I blame myself?)

18 hours ago, Kabuto said:

Why do I blame myself?