MissPiss

I'm new. I haven't showered in a week.

Hello, my name is Melissa, I am 38, and I am new to this page. Actually, I'm new to "support groups" in general, so I apologize if I don't use proper etiquette, or if I do anything wrong.

My story is typical, with a whole lot of spice mixed in. My parents divorced when I was 3, both remarried when I was 6, and shortly thereafter, stole my "only child" title/role, by giving me siblings (I still consider myself an "only child" 😑). At 5, I started the jetset life, of an unaccompanied, travelling, 'child of divorce', and started flying back and forth, between California and Arizona, then later, Washington state and Arizona, at least 5 times a year.

From the time I can remember, I have never connected with, or even wanted to connect with anyone, on any more than a surface level. I was never in one place long enough, to bother making any friends or having any real worthwhile relationships. I wasn't around my siblings consistently enough to create any kind of a bond with them, plus, in my mind, I was just so much older than them, that there wasn't really any need to even try. It was the same with my parents. I just got to "visit" their normal lives every now and then.

I met my first husband at 17, and we were married for 10 years, but I MAJORLY screwed that one up (due to my un-checked depression).

When I was 28, I up and, out of the blue, decided to join the army... but then, the monster hit again, and I was given an early release.

I was a binge drinking alcoholic for quite a few years..  but the hangovers got so bad, that I quit,  and haven't drank in years. 

In the army, I met my current husband, who is severely bipolar. The beginning years were rough, but, he got help, and I now have the best most wonderful husband in the world. When I was 30, we had our son. I didn't think I could have kids, so it was suprising, but perfect.