Sign in to follow this  
Laurieo

I’m new, trying Zyban

Hi Laurie! Nice to meet you and welcome to the forums. Hope you find some peace and comfort here. It's a very kind and supportive community. :laugh: I have no experience with Zyban, so hopefully others can offer you some insight. Either way I hope your new medication will help you out. Take care!

Hello, we're pleased to have you here and I hope you'll find it easy to share what's on your mind with us. Each of us is living with some flavor of mental illness, we get how difficult it can be. 

Zyban/Bupropion/Wellbutrin is a commonly prescribed antidepressant. As you've just begun taking it, you might find it useful to read some shared experiences in the Depression & Anxiety Medications - Looking for Answers forum. Years of questions and answers to peruse.

I've taken Bupropion in the past and my elderly mother is currently on it for depression. It did nothing at all for my symptoms but it's relieving her's. Rather unfair, I think - but I don't begrudge her the relief. Clinical depression is both a familiar and familial misery.

It may require some dose adjustments to find a balance between relief effects and tolerability of side-effects. I wish you the best outcome with your treatment. Have you been to a counselor in the past or present?

Thanks for the reply. Atra.  I’m currently at the half dose stage and it’s quite jarring.  My primary physician is helping me with this medication and I see a counselor for cognitive behavioral therapy.

Funny about your Mom.  I live with mine and you’re so right about it being a familial illness.  

Mom just “decided” to take her Prozac more yesterday.  

I’m going to trust in the dr I have since I’m safe/free of suicidal thoughts.  Rather than fiddle with my dose personally, I’m seeing my dr in 30 days to review the dose.

The insomnia is obviously awful, but I’m adjusting my schedule instead of my dose.  Ha!  (I’m a recovering addict/alcoholic).