Sign in to follow this  
KimmiYo

Hiya, I'm a Newbie in the Community!

There's a first-time for everything, and this is my first-time posting in a Depression Support Forum Community. So, here's my introduction.

I prefer to go by KimmiYo or Kimmi, I'm 25 yrs old (almost 26) and I was last diagnose with "Persistent Depressive Disorder" aka "Dysthymia" since 2016. I also suffer from Adult ADHD ( I was diagnosed with ADHD since Childhood) and Stress.

As for what brought me to wanting to post in this Forum, it's because of a recent death in my family who was basically my "Rock" and the only person who gave me comfort while I struggled through my symptoms, while my dysfunctional family wrote me off as being "Retarded" or 'Lazy".

I guess you could saying i'm turning to this forum for a community to lend a open ear and listen and give me some advice as I try to battle against my Symptoms , just like my grandmother once did; even though we would butt heads from time to time. But at this point, I really don't know what I want.

Edited by KimmiYo

Hi, we welcome you. I'm very sorry you lost a loved one who seemed to understand what you're going through. I can't imagine the pain you're enduring or how isolated you feel without that supportive person in your life.

In this community, we try to support each other. We're all struggling with symptoms of some form of mental illness and we get what it's like to be dismissed by people who are meant to care about us. We want to listen to you and accept whatever you want to share about your struggles - but we also need your help because some days, it's just too hard.

Letting go of the hurtful words of others takes time so let us offer you some validating words to keep you hopeful. You're not lazy, you're not making up reasons to be depressed and this illness isn't a reason why you should be treated poorly. You're also not alone.