Sign in to follow this  
rayar812

Harm OCD

New poster. My name is Ray. My life has officially spun out of control and this is the first place I found to vent since everything came crashing down now a week ago. 

Please, let me know if there are any guidelines I need to abide to, this is the first time I am doing anything in a week other than lying in bed and eating bologna sandwiches directly out of the fridge. 

I was a 2nd year medical student at a large university in Illinois. To make a long story short, I have, since starting medical school, been admitted to the hospital three times for losing my mind on each occasion all due to OCD. After the last hospitalization, I am throwing in the towel and starting my life over. If I do not handle my OCD now, I am just winding myself up for an imminent implosion and possible explosion. 

I bought a few books and I am going to be diligent in taking my medication as I have never before mostly out of denial that I really had a mental illness. 

Sorry if this post was too brief. Like I said, this is the first positive step I have taken in a week since I quit school. 

Hi Rayara812,

I want to welcome you to the Forums.  It is nice to meet you.

Hopefully you will finds these Forums to be a friendly and welcoming place.  I am so sorry that you are afflicted with OCD.  Although I only have a mild form of OCD, my father had it really bad.  There are many people here who suffer from OCD and I hope they will see your post and respond to it.   I was hospitalized once for serious depression.  Being hospitalized can be quite an experience.

I am looking forward to reading your future posts.  My heart goes out to you for all the suffering you have endured ! ! !      - epictetus

Hello Epictetus,

Thank you for the warm welcome. I am definitely at the lowest I have ever been in my life and I have barely any idea how to progress. It means a lot to hear your message! 

Ray