Elander Dale

Mirtazapine/Risperidone

Hello!

I am a female veteran, Elander, so I get most of my treatment from the VA here in Delaware. I have been taking Mirtazapine and Risperidone both at bedtime for depression and sleep. I have insomnia pretty bad. It doesn't help me to sleep at night, even though I am to take it at bedtime. This medication was administered to me by the Behavioral Health Clinic at the VA Hospital.

Hello!

I am just learning how to reply. I only saw one reply option under the second message so I'll answer you both, until I learn better or maybe you could teach me. 

I am taking 15mg once every night before bedtime. I have been on the Mirtazapine for about week.

2 hours ago, Elander Dale said:

I am taking 15mg once every night before bedtime.

If 15mg doesn't knock you out you could try halving it (so 7.5mg), this drug is weird like that, lower doses make you sleepier than larger doses. 

If that doesn't work you could also ask your doctor about Trazodone, it's an older antidepressant that is often used as a sleep aid. It's pretty effective but you'll have to get to sleep early or you'll be super groggy in the morning. 

Do you practice good sleep hygiene? No modern sleep aid will knock you out cold like the old ones did, if you're reading or watching TV that can keep you awake. 

Thanks!

Tomorrow, I'll try taking have of the Mirtazapine, instead of a whole one and see what happens. Trazadone makes me vomit. I usually go to sleep on a normal around 10 pm. I think to be truthful, living in an apartment with thin wall, where you can hear everything coming from your neighbors apartment doesn't make things any easier for me either in the area of sleep. I pray that Mirtazapine knocks me out on the half of dose. I'll keep you posted!

1 minute ago, Elander Dale said: