Sign in to follow this  
twistedmister

Does having a smartphone make your mental issues worse?

I guess we've all seen those studies now saying that teens are experiencing more depression and anxiety because of social media on their smartphones, but what's your personal experience like? Do you have an unhealthy relationship with your phone, and do you wish it were better? I'm asking partly out of curiosity, and partly because I'm a software developer who's been struggling a lot with feeling like crap (suicidal crap), and using the Internet as an escape. I'm thinking of writing an app to control my internet usage so I have fewer of those days where I feel worse because I didn't even manage to leave the house. Would anyone else here find something like that useful?

It no so much as the device itself but the Internet and the agenda that releases content. Most websites have a news tab (because "reasons" I guess) which usually shows propaganda opinion pieces. THOSE make me want to go postal; hearing more worthless people asking for privileges and their worthlessness to be championed would worsen depression and anger issues for sure; but I won't say it's the smartphone's fault

21 hours ago, BrokenHorse228 said:

It no so much as the device itself but the Internet and the agenda that releases content. Most websites have a news tab (because "reasons" I guess) which usually shows propaganda opinion pieces. THOSE make me want to go postal; hearing more worthless people asking for privileges and their worthlessness to be championed would worsen depression and anger issues for sure; but I won't say it's the smartphone's fault

Worthless people???

39 minutes ago, rhyl said:

Worthless people???

Lazy, millennial snowflakes who blame their bad decisions on white people; thinking the world owes them something because they simply exist. Yet, they didn't do anything in their life to earn or contribute/justify getting something. The perma-victims.