Donate Now Read more... ×

Ok so I'm new to this. 

So, is it possible to get past depression and anxiety?! This is a question I have asked myself for many years. So far the answer would seem to be no!. 

After many years of struggling i have now had to accept that this is life... medication and upset for seemingly No reason. 

I cant pin point my pain, days just hurt! Alone even though there are people around. No escape from this hell provided by my mind. 

Welcome to our forum family.

No doubt depression can be a hellish prison.

Maybe it's time to realize you served out your sentence.

There is always a way out of the metaphorical depression cave.

My approach is to metaphorically turn my back on the deep, dark abyss.

It is always there but I need not dwell too long in my depression cave.

Please make yourself at home on this awesome forum.

We give support and share insights as best we can.

Posted (edited)

Hi Guesswho52 and welcome to the Forums,

It is nice to meet you.  

Hopefully you will find these Forums to be helpful to you.  They have helped me a lot.  These Forums did not exist when I suffered my worst depression; the one that landed me in a psychiatric hospital.  I think I could have avoided hospitalization if I could have communicated with others who suffered depression.  

Please let me tell you how terribly  sorry I am that you are suffering and have been suffering.  Depression is a really brutal illness.   It is a heartbreaking illness.

At age 63, I have suffered depression for most of my life but thank goodness have been free of it now for over 20 years.  Perhaps I am misguided, but I tend to think there is always hope.