Advertisement
  • Announcements

• Lindsay

Donate Now   11/12/2017

Give the gift that will keep on giving. Donate Now  Thank you and have a healthy, joyful and peaceful holiday season.   Lindsay Reday Forum Administrator, Founder LGJ Managing Director, Owner LioninWinters Administrative Technician 

Alceste

Hello

3 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post  

Advertisement

So, hi. I just recently turned 45, had my first diagnose for (severe) depression 15 years ago. Now after two years of therapy I've come to a realization that I've been depressed from childhood. I work full time in IT (development), I'm medicated, I function. Last week I took the BDI test scoring 35 (severe depression). And started to think if this is it. Is this the new normal, living in a hazy routine waiting for the next major relapse and added medication and sick leave.

I'm so tired.

You might also be interested in:

Posted · Report post  

Hi Alceste.  Its nice to meet you.

I want to welcome you to the Forums. I am from the USA but was briefly in Helsinki to change planes.  Unfortunately I only saw the airport and what could be seen from the airport windows.  It all looked quite beautiful to me.  

I'm sorry you are suffering from depression and have been since childhood.  I feel the same [I am 63].  Depression is such a cruel and brutal illness.  I hope you will find some benefit from this site.  It has helped me a lot to feel less alone with my illness.  Sometimes it seems like those who have not been stricken with this illness are unable to really understand and empathize.  

My last twenty years have been better than all the others although I realize I am still vulnerable to relapses.  A physician put me on a rather high dose of a medication called Celexa and that helped more than anything before.  Of course different things work and don't work for different people.