Sign in to follow this  

Hello all,

This is my very first time posting in a forum of any type (depression related or otherwise) and I admit that I am stepping outside of my comfort zone in doing so.  I've never really liked the idea of posting my problems on the internet, perhaps only because I am a private person.  I am going to do my best not to make this too wordy or long-winded as well.  So here it goes:

First off, I would like to give you a brief description of who I am.  I am a 28 year old male.  I am in good physical health.  I am active (more so in summertime) and enjoy being outdoors.  Although I do not have a college degree I have a job that allows me to pay my bills.  I have struggled with depression since I was a child.  My struggle with depression has come and gone in waves, as with anyone and everyone else.  Some months it's good, some months it's bad. The same can be stated on a daily basis as well.  I am not on medication, although I have been in the past several times.  I am trying my best to avoid being on medication only because I've found it tends to deflate certain passions I have for things in my life (e.g. hiking, backpacking, riding horses).  I also have a serious girlfriend whom I have been seeing off and on for a little over two years (we broke up for three months about a year ago).  

I have found that one thing I struggle with in my depression, and one of the things that can throw me into a downward spiral, is negative fantasies.  What I mean by this is that when I think about a situation, past or future, my mind tends to create a fantasy circumstance that is so unpleasant and so negative I dwell on it for days, weeks or months on end until I can't even stand it.  It is especially present in my relationships with my family and my girlfriend.