Sign in to follow this  
psycholuigiman

Inferiority Complex, the Bane of My Psyche

I'm an absolute disaster lately. I thought I was getting better, but I guess old mental habits die hard.

Basically, a while back, my girlfriend introduced me to a handful of artist friends. Everything is fine, we're all getting along, talking about our lives. Eventually, we all become good friends. Then I realized something. I'm nobody next to these people. I'm no artist. I'm not really part of any community that needs or respects or even likes me. Heck, I don't even have a job. In fact, with graduation coming up, my future is so high up in the air, I'm not sure it'll ever come back down to stable ground. I have a talent or two that might be considered exceptional, but I'm too cowardly to put them on display like these guys. I'm not brave enough to put myself out there and say "This is what I do". The feeling that I don't compare to my peers has been eating at me for months and it's only gotten worse as I've found out more and more about them. I tried to improve myself and put myself out there, but I failed to do so. That failure makes me feel even worse. Then, as if I wasn't feeling inferior enough, my girlfriend left me for one of the other guys in the group. It was a clean break up, but the message was clear to me. The message being that a loser like me doesn't even deserve to be loved.That all of my fears and concerns and thoughts about being too inferior to my peers were true. Worst part is, I can't tell any of them that this is how I feel. What kind of an a****** looks at his friends and feels nothing but jealousy and anger because of his own inferiority complex? If they didn't hate me already, they'd surely want nothing to do with me if they ever found out how petty I truly am. Surely no good person worth having as a friend ever thinks the way I do. I despise myself right now.