Advertisement
  • Announcements

• Lindsay

Donate Now   11/12/2017

Depression Forums has no real advertising help and no corporate sponsors. We depend on the support from our readers and especially our members. Your Donations would help DF to continue to stay on the internet and is greatly appreciated. Give the gift that keeps on giving. Donate Now  
pab__

Any Australians here taking Zyban/Wellbutrin?

7 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post  

Advertisement

I'm a 25 yo female with diagnoses of MDD & PTSD. I'm also a registered psychiatric nurse.

I've been on Desvenlafaxine (Pristiq) for about 4 years - currently on 150mg. I saw a psychiatrist yesterday for a review as I felt that the Pristiq had lost its efficacy.

I also had been experiencing some pretty unwanted side-effects (extreme night sweats & sexual dysfunction) which had been increasing in intensity the past 3-4 months. In consideration of this,  I have been prescribed a starting dose of 150mg of Zyban (with room to increase to 300mg if needed). I'll be starting the Zyban in 3 weeks, once I have titrated my Pristiq.

As a psych nurse, I've found it interesting to note that I've read other people being prescribed Zyban as an adjunct to other anti-depressants, rather than it being a stand-alone medication. My psychiatrist has prescribed me this as a stand-alone anti-depressant; her rationale being the increased risk of serotonin syndrome (hence why I am titrating my Pristiq for cessation). I've never come across a client prescribed Zyban, given that it isn't prescribed for this purpose in Australia.

Given that Zyban is not marketed/prescribed for psychotropic use in Australia, my psychiatrist did a naughty and got me a 3 month supply on the PBS (by stating its indication is for smoking cessation). For those Aussies who take/have taken Zyban - do you use private health insurance to subsidise the full price of its prescription? I've noted that a script will cost around $160 otherwise.