Sign in to follow this  
medschool

My advisors are morons

I'm a third year medical student now.  I did fine up until now.  I want to enter dermatology, probably one of the most competitive specialities in medicine.  I met with my clinical advisor and the chair of the department and they are morons who just care about board scores.  They are so strung up on board scores and don't even look at you as a person.  This board score is a test you take on one freaking day with no opportunity to retake.  It has a standard error of like 10 points.  It has very little to do with actual clinical medicine.  Yet these dimwits at my school seem to hold it to such high regards.  I did about average on the test which is depressing in its own, but to be belittled because of it is even more discouraging.

I'm depressed because I have to deal with these minions to get my letters of recs in.  They don't believe in research here, but research plays such a large role at top tier medical residencies.  Yet, they don't see the value here (no wonder this school isn't going up in the rankings).  I have a very substantial amount of research in my field of choice but all they do is downplay it.  It's so irritating to sit in a room with them.  

I've been depressed for like 6 months now for getting an average board score (I needed to get in the 75+% nationally to make my life easier to match at a top program).  I let myself down.  These advisors are making it worse because they are feeding into my depression by just focusing on this part of my application (my sole and glaring weakness).  This is going to me a rough next 6 months because they are asking me to do an unreasonable amount of work to "make up" for the average board score (taking our next boards early on top of our clinical rotations).  This whole process just sucks.  Medicine sucks.

Sorry, this is really depressing that I just can't take a standardized test to save my life.