Sign in to follow this  
fearispower

Am I Supposed To Be Alone?

I'm a college student working towards a veterinary technician degree, and I have no friends.

I'm socially awkward, and have next to nonexistant self-esteem. I don't know how to approach people, or how to have normal conversations, or anything. Everytime I think about talking to someone, my brain reminds me of how they have so many more accomplishments than me, or they have great jobs like working in an animal hospital, while the only job I could get was with a crappy cleaning company. I live in a townhouse with three other guys, who I can barely talk to, because they're all older than me and not into things that I am. In my spare time, I run, surf the internet, and write fanfiction, which I can't share with anyone or I'll be humiliated and ostracized as a freak. I don't know how to meet other people who are like me. The worst thing is, everytime I think of having a lot of friends, I realize I don't want to be obligated to meet them everyday for lunch or something, because I'd rather be alone. Then, I feel miserable because I'm alone.

I've never had a girlfriend. In high school, I had someone who, I swear, I genuinely loved. But after we went to one dance together, she refused to go with me to any more, because she didn't want a boyfriend. I would've been okay with that, except I had nobody else I could ask. I tried every casual acquaintance, and they said they were waiting for their friends to ask them, which basically translates to "I'd rather risk going alone than be seen with you." And now I'll probably never see her again. I will die an old virgin, because no girl wants to be associated with a guy who spends his time obsessing over stories from video games, movies, and comic book, and writes fanfiction about them.