Sign in to follow this  
4amRedLight

Help Me Get A Job

I have a Math bachelors of arts from ten years ago. I finished one year of a two year Master's degree in Computational Physics last year, then this February I had a severe depressive episode and stopped classes, quit my part-time retail job, and since then I've been living off money my father sends me to cover rent and student loans.

What triggered my depression was disillusionment about my education and the career I was I aiming for. The degree on paper sounded like we get skills and expertise well above the level students were actually at, and I had a bad experience seeing overexaggerated and misleading work carried onward into real-world jobs. I wanted no part of it.

My part-time retail job I started 20 hrs a week, then I cut it to one day a week after I wanted to leave for another job and my manager asked if I could stay. I always took my duties seriously, even though it was a low paying bottom position. It was hard on me because I needed to do things right, when there would be others looking to do as little work as possible. I looked away from it when it wasn't my business, and I tried to see positive things about them. My approach was, I'm not the manager, I don't care how much work you do, as long as you're not making my work harder for me. I'm going to get my work done, don't get in my way of that and I have no problems with you. If you can make me smile, or I can socialize with you when it's not busy, then we can even be friends.

The idea that I was working on my Master's degree got me through my part-time job. But when that goal vaporized as I lost faith in the program, working at a retail store turned from helping earn money towards that goal to pulling me farther away from any hope of a career in science.