Sign in to follow this  
SFChristianGirl

Getting Used To Therapy

Hello everyone.

I know I'm still new at dealing with all of this depression and anxiety. I was wondering if I could get some of your experiences and/or help on how to get through therapy.

I've been seeing a therapist for about a month now. I go once a week, every week. I think that they can sense that I'm holding back. It's not that I'm trying to hold back, it's that I get nervous talking about myself. I think it's partly that a lot of what we're dealing with is in my past and I really don't have that much information to give to my therapist.

I'm not sure if I've blocked things out or what, but there are periods of time in my past that I don't remember anything.

When I'm at these appointments it's like I just clam up. I'm normally very friendly and talkative, but in therapy it feels like I have to be prompted to talk. My brain doesn't want to volunteer anything for some reason.

Does anyone have any advice on how to help with this?

Thanks.

JJ

Hey Girl,

When I first started therapy, I had similar feelings. I hadn't talked to anyone in great detail about some of the topics that came up. At first it was a little scary. Why I held back is because I felt guilty for doing what I did or feeling the way I did, like somehow I had put myself in that situation. Talking it out with my therapist really helped by self esteem because I came to realize that what happened in the past is not always my fault and I don't have to be ashamed of it and blame myself.

Your therapist is not there to judge. Their goal is to listen to what you have to say and possibly change your mind set about those events that happened in the past. Try to remind yourself that when you go in. Even if it is scary at first to open up and be really honest.

Warm wishes,

Cutepuppies