Sign in to follow this  
cutepuppies

Help With Parents

Hey guys! I'm new to this so please excuse me if I make an error.

So I've been dignosed with moderate depression since mid-September, I am taking antidepressants, anti-anxiety meds, and am seeing a therapist. Currently, I am a second year college students. Basically, my depression was brought on by the stresses of my life, money issues, family issues, work issues, school issues, etc.

When I first learned why I was having problems was because of depression I felt so relieved. I thought I had another mental illness. So I did research, and signed up for therapy, and made an appointment with an RN to gets some meds. Everything that the doctor prescribed. After researching, I found that it was a good thing to broaden my base of support. At the time only my boyfriend knew about it. So at the spur of a moment, I called my mom and told her I had some news. I told her about how I have been having problems being super stressed and angry all the time so I saw the counceling enter and the doctor there told me I had depression. I told her about my plans to see a therapist and to see an RN for psych drugs.

My mom completely flipped out. She blamed me for not telling her everything that was going on. Of course I had been keeping stuff back, I don't want to tell my mom every little thing that bothers me. Then she made me promise to not see the RN nurse to get meds. She treatened to drag me home from college if she thought that I wasn't getting better. She demanded that now I should call her everyday and that we really had to talk, I couldn't be holding stuff back from her. It was really bad and tramitic. Not the kind of thing I wanted from my mom. All I wanted was support. Instead, she flipped out and made it even harder for me to ever trust her enough to tell her anything. Now I would have to put on a false front everytime I called her or saw her.