Sign in to follow this  
iamnumb

Important Information About Anhedonia

Please note that I am not a doctor but I am very knowledgeable about this topic. This topic is not aimed to provide a diagnostic or a treatment plan. The purpose of it is to spread more informations about anhedonia. For a proper diagnostic and treatment you need a good psychiatrist. A lot of information in this subforum can be useful for treatment, however.

What exactly is anhedonia?

Anhedonia by definition, is the inability to enjoy normally pleasurable activities. Normal human activities such as eating, drinking, socializing, sex, listening to music or any other recreational activity can become dull and pleasureless to the person who suffers from anhedonia. Such person may stop entirely to seek out those experiences or they may irresponsably engage in the few of them that still give them a little bit of pleasure and develop addictions(ex: food, sex,drugs, etc...) People that suffers from anhedonia also often suffer from emotional numbness where they no longer feel affected by anything, whether it is positive or negative.

Is anhedonia the same as depression?

Psychiatrists view anhedonia not as a condition or a state of mind but as a symptom of depression. I and many people disagree with that. Most people with depression will have some level of anhedonia but in most cases they will still keep the ability to have some pleasure. They will often experience disturbing negative emotions, anxiety, insomnia, tiredness, low self esteem. They will often get less pleasure out of life as a result of negative thoughts and emotions, but in most cases they can still enjoy positive experiences when it happens.