Sign in to follow this  
LynnC

Breakthrough Depression On Zoloft

Hey all. So I've been coasting along on 50mg of zoloft for a few months now. I started having some breakthrough anxiety in the beginning of the week and forgot my dose of zoloft 2 nights ago. I took it first thing in the morning but it's been rough ever since. Now my depression is back, I haven't been able to eat in 2 days and I just have the dreaded depressive feelings again. What makes this happen after feeling normal for a few months? I'm terrified I'm spinning down into that pit again. Comments?

zoloft........i swear man,doctors or scientist or chemists or whatever always choose such silly names for those meds.I mean seriously.....zoloft....it makes me think of a loft.....but inside a zoo..........Anyway,i hope the meds help you,also take your mind off this anxiety,go do something you enjoy,that always works for me,and im a extremly anxious guy.

Hi Lynn,

Having down days is normal, even while on medication therapy. If you continue feeling depressed, please call your doctor. They may increase your dose to get you more stabalized. Sometimes higher doses can do the trick, they did for me. When I was on 50mg, all I felt was tiredness. When I went up to 100mg, I leveled off to my therapeutic dose.

Flash interesting you commented on the tiredness on 50mg...I feel exhausted on this dose and could easily sleep 11 hrs a night and take a nap if I had the time! I'm going to give this a few days and hope I level out...the dips are no fun and I can't help but start to mentally run down the worst case scenario-a full relapse! How did you know 100mg was the dose for you? Did you feel less tired on it or is this still a lingering side-effect?