Sign in to follow this  
sunmicroman

Scared To Increase Dose

I have been taking 5mg of Celexa for two weeks now. I started on 5mg because the side effects were so intolerable (increased anxiety and depression, apathy, just feeling weird overall and spacey). My problem is I know need to increase my dosage, but am scared because I am just beginning to adapt to the 5mg. I am having a fairly good day today mood wise, and even worked more than I have in a while. But, I am scared if I increase the dosage to 10mg, I'll be back at square one.

Does increasing your dose after being on a smaller one for a little while make it more tolerable than if you just started on the higher dose to begin with? I an very sensitive to meds and also have been battling pretty debilitating depression, so I an scared to feel worse again.

That is a good question and I think I can understand what you are feeling, having had those feelings about meds too. I cannot be very helpful, though, as I was started on 20mg of Celexa, went to 40mg in a week and then 60mg a week later. I did not experience any intolerable side effects in the process, perhaps because I went from Lexapro to Celexa. 60mg is now considered too high a dose usually. I am at 30mg now after having gone down from 40mg beecause I take a proton pump inhibitor for acid reflux disease and it can increase the amount of Celexa in one's bloodstream. To be quite honest with you, I miss the 60mg dosing because it was at this level that I got the joy of life back, almost zero anxiety and almost no panic attacks. It is so frustrating to realize that antidepressant meds vary so much in terms of effectiveness and side effects from person to person.

Hi sunmicroman,

I understand your fear of increasing your dose, but if you do it so slowly, you're just stretching out your side effects and not taking the dose prescribed by your doctor to get you well.

Edited by flasquish