Advertisement
  • No one should be alone in this. We can help.
If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.                                                                            If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Photo

Living Abroad And Dealing With Depression

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 dawnjapan

dawnjapan

Just Registered

• Just Registered
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 10:29 AM

Hi everyone. Newbie here!

I am currently living in Japan, and I am having an incredibly hard time. It's not culture shock - coming to Japan was a dream come true for me. It is dealing with the other non-Japanese people that are my colleagues and surrogate "family".

Living in the countryside in a place like Japan means you have to make bonds and friendships, and you have to stick within those boundaries. Because of my depression, I am very socially awkward, and so pretty much no one really gets me, so it's hard. I was ok with that for a while. I thought I had friends who did understand me and liked me in spite of it. One of them also suffers from depression, and I thought that we were close.

Turns out I am horribly wrong. I recently found out that the 3 people I thought were my friends have actually been gossiping about me behind my back, saying really, really horrible things. Discussing my depression, saying I am only seeking attention with my poor social skills, laughing about my appearance and telling each other how much they can't stand being around me, and how everyone hates me.