Advertisement
  • No one should be alone in this. We can help.
If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.                                                                            If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Photo

Alcohol And Prozac?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Emmaz

Emmaz

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 May 2012 - 03:54 PM

Hey Guys

It says on my medication fluxotine or whatever that im not allowed to drink alcohol? Im a depressed uni student and to be honest alcohol is keeping me going a heck of a lot, i cant not drink it. Advice? xxx

#2 RitaBrownEyes

RitaBrownEyes

• PipPipPip
  • 189 posts

Posted 04 May 2012 - 11:25 PM

I don't know what would happen if you mixed the two however... alcohol is a depressant. I used to party a lot with my friends (I'm 21) and it was perfectly normal drinking alcohol makes me a happy drunk but then eventually it starts catching up to me and I suffered one of my lowest episodes of depression and I couldn't pick myself up for a while. Now I can't drink at all because it just makes me feel much more depressed.

From what I know... fluoxetine can cause fatigue and sedation.. I've had experience with that but if you drink alcohol with a medication that can cause fatigue it's never good.

I knew someone who died (she was 24 and perfectly healthy) who took anti depressants because she drank one night with them and stopped breathing in her sleep. I don't know what type of anti- depressants but I don't think it's worth the risk...