Advertisement
  • No one should be alone in this. We can help.
If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.                                                                            If you - or someone you know - are having thoughts about suicide, call 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Calls are connected to a certified crisis center nearest the caller's location. Services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Photo

Should I Tell My Boss?

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 RanDog

RanDog

• Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 21 August 2007 - 09:51 PM

My anxiety issues are really starting to affect my work. I have a hard time concentrating while I'm there and I'm not getting stuff done that I need to. I'm a manager for a major shipping company and I have 40 employees who count on me. I've been debating whether to tell my boss what I'm going through. I'm afraid it will ruined my career. Have any of you ever had to tell your boss and how did they take it?

#2 jojolala88

jojolala88

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 August 2007 - 10:03 PM

I recently had to tell my direct supervisor and my boss that I was having a crisis because I needed to take time off from work to see my therapist and dr. It probably wasn't the smartest thing I ever did but I found out that if for some reason I might need to use the Americans with Disability Act, my employer has to first know there is a problem so they can make arrangements for me to keep my job. I am a nurse so I really expected a little warmer response than I received. Check out the ADA and how it might help protect your job.

#3 Jkm

Jkm

• Platinum Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,591 posts

Posted 21 August 2007 - 11:18 PM